Pay as you go

leagueofireland_euros

This morning I tweeted this;

tweet FAI figures

I was asked, through a private message from someone who didn’t like the point I was making, to back it up or take it down.

So, I’m backing it up, which won’t take long. The numbers of red and yellow cards referenced below, I took from this morning’s excellent League of Ireland pull-put in the Irish Sun newspaper.

1. Affiliation fees: €19,000 x 12 Premier Division teams = €228,000

2. There have been 688 yellow cards issues this season, a €25 fine associated with each one = €16,700

3. 71 players reached four yellow cards, a suspension and further €50 fine = €3,550

4. 6 players reached eight yellow cards, a further suspension and further 50 fine = €300

4. 72 players received red cards, a suspension and €50 fine = €3,600

5. €228,000 + €16,700 + €3,550 + €3,600 + €300 = €252,150

6. The League Prize money is €241,500 as announced at the season launch.

Now, the above is the minimum figure that Premier Division Clubs have contributed to the League Office in fines and affiliation fees. I don’t have Red Cards and fines associated with Management nor do I have information pertaining to fines attributed to supporters, beyond Dundalk FC’s statement where they claim to have paid €5,000 in fines attributable to supporters in 2014, before the fireworks on the night they won the league title.

Clubs pay as they go in the League of Ireland and it is an issue which could have a serious knock-on issue. In the past year, a number of clubs are quietly, but pointedly, asking questions among themselves such as “Why am I spending €X,000 per week over 36 weeks on players to win €100,000?”

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “Pay as you go

  1. Seán says:

    >I was asked, through a private message from someone who didn’t like the point I was making, to back it up or take it down.

    Sounds familiar, apart from the bit where you can still keep it up if you back it up.

  2. the FAI take the money from the t. v . companies and keep it ………… DISCRACEFUL.

  3. Tony says:

    Maybe if clubs cooperated with each other more we wouldn’t have this situation.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting Tony.
      While clubs can’t do it on their own, they do need to take greater collective responsibility. I actually touch on that in the blog post “parenting skills” which I wrote a few weeks ago.

      • Tony says:

        Hi John.
        I only saw this by accident as I was not aware of this site.
        If the League of Ireland clubs get together as a block then they can enforce change but they first need to put aside their own petty little squabbles.They must work as a unit as individually they can do nothing.

Leave a comment